The grand finale to an amazing year – my MSc graduation!

IMG_1123I never quite believed I would make it and get to this point, but last week I attended my graduation ceremony. A fantastic finale to an amazing year. Doing an MSc in Public Policy at Bristol University after so long away from anything to do with the academic world was a real challenge but one I thoroughly enjoyed. The ceremony itself was spectacular, a lot of pomp and ceremony, but enthralling in its own way. A lovely day made even more special by the friendly service provided by all those that helped to make the event go so smoothly, and for whom nothing was too much trouble. I was initially in two minds about whether or not to even attend, but I am very glad I did.

IMG_1115After a year of hard slog and a pretty intensive work programme it was nice to receive some recognition and to celebrate the achievement with family and friends. My father and his wife enjoyed themselves, as did my partner. It was also great to catch up with class mates and lecturers who made the year so special. Without the help and support of so many of the staff, both academic and administrative, I would probably not have made it through and certainly would not have enjoyed my time so much. The discussion, debate, and challenge generated during lectures and seminars were something I had been missing for many years. The chats and discussions with fellow students, about life in Bristol, essays and assignments, and life back in their home countries, were endlessly fascinating and I learnt a huge amount from them. I have made some new friends, and despite the geographical distances, with many coming from China, Thailand, Canada, Azerbaijan, Denmark and Palestine, to name but a few. I hope we’ll keep in touch for years to come.

2015-02-12 13.49.47I owe a very special thanks to some amazing academic staff in the School for Policy Studies: Noemi Lendvai, David Sweeting, Alex Marsh, Sarah Ayres & Ailsa Cameron for their support and help throughout the year and to Emma Western and Andrea Osborn for getting me through the systems and processes and being so friendly and always willing to help.

I have written previously about what it was like being a mature student – My year as a mature student and One year ago today – so won’t repeat what I said then, but suffice to say the experience has been both enlightening and at times quite scary. It’s a year I’ll never forget and the graduation ceremony was a great way to bring it to a close.

2015-02-12 11.46.45

And now onto the next challenge – I am currently 5 months into a PhD programme, at the School for Policy Studies at Bristol University, and am just beginning to realise the very real difference between doing a Masters degree and embarking on a  PhD!

2 thoughts on “The grand finale to an amazing year – my MSc graduation!

Leave a Reply

